Midorea V3 Development Merch | Search | Memberlist | Vault | The Forge | Battle! | Temple

Goody Shop Reward

Log-In   Not a member? Register Now! 
Midorea Forum Index / City Hall
Athilea Majiri

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 5:22 pm Reply with quote        
So, about a month ago now my husband and I started strength training. That means we've been doing a lot of squats, dead lifts, bench presses, and overhead presses. It's all part of a proven 30 year old program called Starting Strength by Mark Rippetoe.

In this month we have added 60 pounds to the amount that we can squat. I'm only a couple of weeks away from squatting my own body weight. I squatted 145 pounds 5 times for 3 sets the last time we trained. We only train 3 times a week, but every time we add 5-10 pounds to each move we do. 5 pounds for me on the presses because I'm not good at them.

For the Dead Lifts I did 150 pounds for one set of 5. The bench press and overhead press alternate on the days we train. For bench presses I'm up to 80 and for overhead presses I'm up to 60. So I'm still doing pretty well.

Now, you may ask why I'm doing this or what the new perspective part of my title is about. Well, I'll tell you. I use to see fitness in an almost completely aesthetic way. I was borderline starving myself while working out for an hour a day 6 days a week. Even on my off day I was walking and doing other things to try to ensure that I wouldn't accidentally gain even an ounce. What use is looking good, though, if the workouts you are doing aren't functional?

When you strength train if gives helps in a lot of different areas. Squats help you run faster, dead lifts help you pick up heavy stuff (super useful for moving), and so on. So why do this random isolated workouts that don't actually have your body move in a way that is natural?