Midorea V3 Development Merch | Search | Memberlist | Vault | The Forge | Battle! | Temple

Goody Shop Reward

Log-In   Not a member? Register Now! 
Midorea Forum Index / Writing Chat
Chu
Assistant Admin

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:01 pm Reply with quote        
In the past few months... well, quite a bit has happened, but only three things matter to you right now:

1. I've become a bit of an astrology buff, although I'm still learning.
2. I've run into an enormous amount of free time.
3. I need a creative outlet.

I'm not here to convince you of the significance or reliability of astrology. In fact, I'm not even sure about what I think of it. I am, however, impressed at the depth of character that natal charts represent. (If you're not familiar with the term, this is my natal chart, as an example.) I'm also fairly sure that if any of you were to look deeply into the subject, you'd be impressed too. Does this validate astrology in any way? Of course not, but it does provide an excellent starting point for writers who have reached a dead end, like myself.

I'll be creating a character strictly through the use of astrology - I personally have no clue about what they're going to be like yet. Come March 1st, I'm going to begin writing their story with daily horoscopes as a guideline. (These will be more personalized horoscopes than the general Aries or Cancer ones, obtained from http://astro.com.) Every day, for a full year, I will write one new chapter in this character's life and post it here on Midorea for critique/feedback.

I'd like to invite any of you to join me. This isn't a contest (although if enough people are that interested, I could make it a contest) but just the chance to try something new. You can approach it in any way you please, although these are my personal rules:

• 1 chapter a day, following the character's horoscope. (If I miss a day, I am to make it up whenever I write again.)